A cycle in time

I have mentioned in another post that my grandfather was in the Dutch Army Bicycle Corp during WWII. Today I finally dug out the photos that my grandmother left me some years ago and found the photos he had kept of those days.

Weren’t they so handsome?! My grandfather is the one standing with his arms stretched out and no hat!


You may also like a post on my other blog about Victorian Military Bicycle Uniforms

Debđź’‹

About thewartimewoman

I love history, fashion, art and design, especially of the 1930s to the 1960s. I am also a mother, wife, interior decorator & a treasure hunter who wishes she could drive a 1933 Delage. I studied Architecture at Melbourne university, briefly, and completed a Diploma of Art in Interior Design at the Melbourne College of Decoration in 1991. I have worked on an off as a decorator ever since, in between stints as a florist, balloon artist, having my five children and helping my husband in his law firm. in my spare time I love researching history, blogging and gardening.

One response »

  1. Wow! That was just fascinating. I had no idea there were bicycle units. A few years ago our city made a big deal about policy bicycle units and anytime I’m downtown, I’m always surprised at how quiet they are. I’ll look up and one is there. Great Photos and information. Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Kitten Vintage

Handpainted and vintage furniture and accessories

Cheltenham Road

The adventures of a reluctant crafter

First Night Design

Art, Design, Theatre, Literature, History, Food, Laughter ... but mostly Art!

1st Field Company Engineers - Australian Imperial Forces

The stories of the 229 "Originals" who Embarked on the A19"Afric", A6 "Clan McCorquodale", A35 "Berrima" 1914.

Inside the Fashion Doll Studio

Barbie for big girls.

Color by Klimbim 0.1

All images colored by me can be used for free for any purposes but commercial.

Gal Gumshoe with M. Ruth Myers

1940s, women, mysteries & more

Collecting cutlery

Interesting topics on cutlery for the collector

Woolies Buildings - Then and Now

What happened to your old Woolworths store?

Please Pass the Recipe

sharing recipes from one generation to the next

TESSEROLOGY

A MOSAIC OF BITS AND PIECES ON TRAVEL, LIFE AND TIMES

quirkywritingcorner

A great WordPress.com site

Travel Tales of Life

Never Too Old To Explore

Don Ostertag: Off Stage

Laughter in the Wings